top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJessica Petrucci

Sunken Face

Something about a sunken face intrigues me.


Tired eyes surrounded by sucked in skin. Like with every hour those tired eyes have been forced to stay open, the skin sinks deeper around them. When bone structure peeks through, it shows truth and vulnerability. Like “this is all I have left”, this is the true face of living. Living through hard working days and long passion filled nights.

My paternal grandmother had one of those faces. She was beautiful. She would pat her sinking skin with special moisturizer every morning and every night. It was a wonderful sight to see.


She would giggle and pat her thin cheeks that were so shallow you could see the bony landmarks. I loved her face. Her skin was so soft and had such great tone. I never understood why she would pat it with so much lotion because I thought her skin was already perfect. I wanted to use that lotion so my face could be like hers.


Sunken skin that’s seen it all.


That’s what I want.


I want my face to see the sun on beaches all over the world and soak in the all the rays that will eventually cause little brown specs on my cheeks. I want lines where my smile has extended so wide from joyful times of love and laughter. I want little folds around my eyes and lines in my forehead from expressions that take over my entire face. Those lines remember moments of beauty, fear, anger, pain, and pleasure.


I want a face that has lived a full life. A beautiful face like my grandmothers that’s been through more than just the good stuff. I want to care for my face and appreciate all those cracks and crinkles with lotion and whatever else makes it glow.


I recently started to use a lotion that makes me think of my grandmother every morning and sometimes I giggle too. I might not have a sunken in face yet, but these dark circles under my eyes resemble hers and these thin cheeks are starting to as well. I’ll be dammed if this face doesn’t have happy lines all over by the time I’m a grandmother.


I can’t wait to conform my old face into silly faces like she would at me.

So here’s to living life with the best intentions of creating a nice sunken face.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Daydreams

I get caught up in my own thoughts a lot. I used to think this was a bad thing, and sometimes it can be a little superfluous. But there...

Who am I?

"And ask yourself, who am I?" says every yoga book ever. Here's the thing, most of us only have a surface level answer. I remember about...

Comments


bottom of page